Preaload Image

Level 4/5 Information Technology


Level 4/5 Diploma in Information Technology (RQF) (L4/5IT) makes up the first year of the undergraduate journey. The qualification is equivalent to the first year of an IT degree in the UK university. The opportunity to develop essential thinking and study skills, not only within the computing domain but also within the framework of business through a balance of academicand vocational subjects. The qualification will allow them to recognize and enter the computing profession with the essential knowledge expected within the industry and the ability to apply the skills to a range of IT-related functions


Level 4/5 Diploma in Information Technology qualification consists of 12 mandatory units total of 240 credits, 2400 hours Total Qualification Time (TQT)and 1200 Guided Learning Hours (GLH) for the completed qualification

Qualification TitleLevel 4/5 Diploma in Information Technology
Duration1 Year
Total Credit Value240
Guided Learning Hours (GLH)960 Hours
Overall Grading TypePass / Fail
Assessment MethodsCoursework
Language of AssessmentEnglish
Delivery ModeOnline / Classroom



For access to the level 4/5 Diploma in information technology , you will usually meet the following criteria

  • Level 3 Diploma in information technology or equivalent 
  • Age 17+ in the year of registration.
  • GCSE Ordinary Level Grade C or equivalent to Mathematics.
  • GCSE Ordinary Level Grade C or equivalent to English.

We will accept every application on its own terms even if you don’t meet the standard specifications. Our Admissions Panel will assess whether you have any alternative / incomplete credentials or work experience appropriate for program entry

  • Information Technology and IT Ethics
  • Mathematics and Statistics for IT
  • PC Maintenance and Operating Systems
  • Computer Graphics Editing and Database Concepts
  • Web Programming
  • Programming Concepts and Java for Android Programming
  • Technopreneurship
  • Network Security
  • C#.NET Programming
  • System Administration
  • Business to Consumer (B2C) E-commerce
  • Network Routing and Switching

Learners completing any of the related Level 4/5 Diplomas in IT can progress to:

  • Level 6 Diploma in IT,Networking, Software Engineering, and Cyber Security
  • or -Directly into employment in an associated profession